Wilbur Awards

Over 70 Years of Recognizing Excellence in the Communication of Religious Issues, Values, and Themes in Public Media

Since 1949, the Wilbur Awards have been presented annually to recognize excellence in the communication of religious issues, values, and themes in public secular media. Through the awards, the Religion Communicators Council (RCC) recognizes the work of individuals, production companies and agencies as they communicate about religious issues, values and themes with professionalism, fairness, respect and honesty. Past winners include Morgan Freeman, Oprah Winfrey, Jane Pauley, Mister Rogers, CBS Sunday Morning, ABC’s 20/20, Meet the Press, Vanity Fair, Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, and the New York Times.

The Wilbur Award honors Marvin C. Wilbur, a pioneer in the field of religious public relations. Each Wilbur stained glass trophy is individually hand-crafted. An eloquent thank you for excellent work!

Submission Deadline:

Monday, January 31, 2022

2022 Wilbur Awards

Any person or agency may submit entries for the 2022 Wilbur Awards. Entries are eligible if released or distributed through a non-religious medium of general circulation during the 2021 calendar year. The work must be focused on religious issues, positive values, and uplifting themes.

The competition is judged by religion media professionals from across the United States in a jury process. The basic criteria of content, creativity, execution and results, apply in the evaluation of each entry. The ultimate criterion is excellence in the communication of religious values, the hallmark of RCC and the Wilbur Awards.

Wilbur Award stained glass trophy

Entry Deadline: January 31, 2022

Winners will be notified by March 31, 2022.

Awards will be presented virtually during the RCC National Convention, in the spring of 2022.

Questions about the Wilburs? Contact us!

Wilbur Awards Contact Form

1 + 13 =

Previous Winners


Recognizing excellence in the communication of religious issues, values, and themes in secular media.


2021 Wilbur Awards Program & Winners


2020 Wilbur Awards Program & Winners

2020 Wilbur Awards Presentation & Acceptance Videos


Shirley Struchen and Andy Rawls Provide Leadership for the Wilbur Awards Program

Shirley Struchen, RCC Executive Director since 2001, is coordinator of the 2020 Wilbur Awards.

Dr. Andrew “Andy” B. Rawls, former director of media services at the Southern Baptist Theological Seminary, is producer of the 2020 Wilbur Awards event for the 30th year. He received a “Special Wilbur” in 2012 as Producer Extraordinaire for his many years of creatively producing the RCC Wilbur Program.

Want to check out some of the previous Wilbur Awards presentations again? Go to the RCC YouTube Channel to see the award presentations.

Many thanks to Andy Rawls, Wilbur Awards producer, for preparing all the video clips highlighting the introduction to each award and excerpts from the acceptance remarks!